benner s competency assessment paper

  • Select any 4 of Benner’s Seven Domains of Nursing Practice listed below to describe a recent experience that relates to the domain you selected:
    1. Helping Role
    2. Teaching/Coaching
    3. Diagnostic/Monitoring
    4. Management of Rapidly Changing Situations
    5. Administering and Monitoring Interventions
    6. Monitors and Ensures the Quality of Practice
    7. Organizational and Work Role Competencies

Note: Benner’s Generic Domains of Practice can be adapted for use in all areas of nursing.

  • Describe an experience for each Domain of Nursing Practice you selected.
    • Identify your competence level using Benner’s Levels of Proficiency (i.e., novice, advanced beginner, competent, proficient, or expert practitioner);
    • In describing the three experiences, use the appropriate criteria to outline the description of your experience, and to validate your level of competence. For example, criteria for the level of Expert Practitioner includes extensive experience, instantaneous grasp of most salient features of a situation, and professional instincts that lead to intuitive decision making and judgment. Expert Practitioners anticipate the unexpected, will still use analytical skills to process info in new situations, perform fluidly and effortlessly, and are respected by physicians.
  • Explain why your behaviors demonstrate the level or stage of competence you defined. If your behaviors are not at the Expert Level, describe what you would need to do to advance to the next level.

Need your ASSIGNMENT done? Use our paper writing service to score good grades and meet your deadlines.

Order a Similar Paper Order a Different Paper